Hello Cafe

Food, Lifestyle July 25, 2016

 

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

Without being even a little bit dramatic, I think I’ve been to the cutest place on the planet.  We call it the Hello Kitty Cafe.  Things don’t get more adorable than bow cut out guard rails, adorable employees all in pink with little bows, sprinkle decor, and pink everything.  My hour long wait in the 100 degree weather was worth it, worth it, worth it.  What’s a little sweat and some ruined edges between friends?

So, if you want to go out to the Cafe you first have to head to the Irvine Spectrum.  Not a bad place to end up.  You also get to wait in line in the shadow of this nostalgic ferris wheel.  This is the first Hello Kitty Cafe in the US and it will only be here for a year, so don’t wait too long.  I’ve heard rumors that it may stick around but let’s wait and see before we engage in too much wishful thinking.

The line is fabulously long, but I guess that means that you get to make new friends and get a tan.  My wait gave me some time to get interviewed by the Japanese media.  No idea what channel but I guess I’ll be on on the news somewhere talking about my obsession with pink and Hello Kitty’s positive outlook on life.  As an aside, I also caught a Pikachu, the Spectrum is lousy with them.  Go team Mystic!

FullSizeRender.jpg

I was half exhausted half trying to give FACE. You can see the desire to sit down in my eyes.  Necessity truly is the mother of invention and this hair style was an impromptu, in line, necessity.  I pulled it back, rolled it upward, and tucked into my headband.  This may happen again.

Finally, I made it to the front of the line.  YAY!!!!!!

Here’s where they keep all the goodies.  There are pocket pies both berry and Nutella, birthday cake, puff pastries, and strawberry cake.  There are bow shaped water bottles and an assortment of lemonades.  I got strawberry mint.  I heard rumors that there were donuts but I didn’t see any.

Here is the cashier taking the order for the very cute family behind me.  I think they had the happiest baby in the world.

Here’s the Japanese news reporter eating in the shade.

My bag of swag, two bottles of water, a pocket pie, and a mug.  I love the gentle pink light that was cast one me from the pink and white striped awning.

This was probably the best strawberry, mint lemonade ever.  After standing in 100 degree weather for over an hour, it was everything!

One for me, one for my bestie!  She’s the real Hello Kitty aficionado.


This pocket pie may look unassuming but it may ave been the most tasty thing I’ve ever eaten.  It may be due to my fast from sugar and meat but it was absolutely transcendental.

IMG_5718.JPGIMG_5719.JPGIMG_5720.JPG

And finally we have my mug.  My coffee has never been cuter.

img_1284

Comments 2

Leave a Reply

