Gilded Love 

Lifestyle September 10, 2015


We all have that super old something or other that we just can’t let go of.  This is mine! Just a mug.  Instead of staring at this blank slate day after day I wanted to amp it up a bit. Let me walk you through this super simple little update that brought some shine to my morning coffee.


Her’s my original beloved, Target “A” mug. Oh how I love Target.


A quick trip to Michael’s yielded this awesome paint pen, oil based and metallic. I only colored in the “A” but obviously some of you true artists can make your own designs.   Mine dried overnight but that’s purely because of laziness. I’m sure it was dry within an hour.

Then pop your newly fabulous mug on an oven safe tray and inside a cold oven, < this is key (keeps the mug from cracking). Then heat to 350 degrees and keep it in for 30 minutes. You can do this twice if you want-overachievers!


Now you have a gilded and shiny hand painted mug. How easy was that?!?  Think about it, affordable, personal Christmas gifts. A dream!


And here it is on the gilded pillow I made earlier this year.

Comments 4

Leave a Reply

