Packing Light

DIY, Lifestyle, travel October 31, 2014

IMG_2565.JPG

I’ve chronicled some of my past exploits, most of which were to either present or interview, but heading to Spokane, WA with my BF was a simple and unexpected treat.  I am regularly left at home while he heads to the majestic Northwest, but not this time. All well and good but with the short nature of this trip I had to adjust and fit three days of my life and routine into a CARRY ON!!! Sweaters, boots, jackets hats, and toiletries in a carry on (please). So, first things first. I had to buy a carry on, because I mean who really has a small suit case?

IMG_2540.JPG

Found a navy roller bag for a mere $13 in the garment district. Thank you Downtown LA for all of your many deals. But it’s my bag, so of course I had to add glitter. Here’s a quick how to. 1. I taped around the metal logo plate-had to protect the rest of the bag. 2. Pulled out my trusty spray glue. 3. Added tons of glitter to the still wet glue. 4. Waited for everything to dry and patted it down pretty hard to make sure it was all settled. 5.  Sealed down the glitter it with two ample layers of clear nail polish. 6.  Allowed it to dry over night.  7. Removed the tape and cleaned up any renegade glitter.  One simple way to make a cheap bag look a little more stylish.  If you wanted you could also use a fabric…oooo that’s a good idea.

IMG_2539.JPG

Then to the actual task packing only things I “needed.” So out came The tribal sweater, two pairs of jeans, two boots (low and high) and a huge faux fur lined jacket. What is a trip to Washington state without a huge army green jacket? I also packed my camera gear and dried seaweed. I know seaweed, how freaking LA.

IMG_2522.JPG

IMG_2529.JPG

IMG_2528.JPG

Then I chronicled the lower half of my outfit doing some pretty Northwesterly things. Gotta love Fall colors, textures and smells. The faint smell of wood fires and chilled air took me back to winters in the OC. I love you Spokane.

IMG_1757-0.PNG

Leave a Reply

