Veggie Diary

Health May 15, 2013

20130515-162957.jpg

I have been a practicing vegetarian for the past year. Sadly enough it’s just because it makes me skinnier, no major cause or statement over here. So of course I was concerned about replacing my protein a with nuts, beans, and supplements. No matter how much peanut butter I ate I noticed myself becoming more tired and irritable, my skin was very itchy, and my hair was brittle. What was I doing wrong? I was neglecting B complex, thiamine (B1), riboflavin (B2), niacin (B3), pantothenic acid (B5), pyridoxine (B6), cyanocobalamin (B12), folic acid and biotin. After starting a B complex supplement I noticed quick improvements in energy, mood and skin. The itchiness was the worst and made it difficult to run. Well, two miles later I’m happy and healthy.

20130515-163121.jpg

Comments 2

  1. lvdogg says on May 15, 2013

    I never felt a difference while taking a b-complex. B-complex’s always have low doses so I found it more satisfying to take a multivitamin. Cyanocobalamin too, is the synthetic form of vitamin b12 and from what I know is harmful to the body. I enjoy taking vitamin b12 in it’s most bioavailable form, hydroxocobalamin. One step below that would be methylcobalamin which is more commonly found in supplements. Cynocobalamin being the most common. I was told, on the Dr. Oz show I think, that peanut butter is not healthy for you at all. It contains too much sugar, hydronated oils, etc.. I switched to nut butter (raw/organic) as a healthier alternative (almond butter, sunflower seed butter. I also heard peanuts are not good for you in the same instance; walnuts, almonds, and pistachios being your brain nuts, and macadamia nuts and chestnuts as recommended nuts.

Leave a Reply

