DIY Desk

DIY March 10, 2013

2013-03-08_11-20-00

Since I moved to my new place I’ve been working toward a new lighter aesthetic.  Less dark woods and bright colors more whimsical clean fun.  This made my desk search a little difficult, that’s because I was hitting the usual places.  When I stumbled into my local Goodwill I bumped into this raw wood desk, I was so excited I waited in a 20 minute line…the woman behind me was standing so close I almost became claustrophobic.  But I finished and drug this beauty out under my own power.

2013-03-08_11-17-35

I mean $25, I’ll wait for hours for a good deal.  After removing all stickers and some random tape from the last owner, I collected my tools.

2013-03-08_11-18-17

A quick trip to Home Depot yielded a mini roller and tray ($4), silver paint ($9), and two trash bags (under the sink, free).  I decided to paint the desk right in my room, so I made sure the trash bags protected the carpet and that the room was properly ventilated (I need all the brain cells I’ve got).

2013-03-08_11-18-30

Don’t forget to paint with the grain, people always talk about how important that is so I did it.  I made one mistake, I didn’t mix the paint in the beginning to it was a little thin and bubbly.  No problem, I mixed it and the next coat was spectacular.  Don’t be scared of mistakes, they always add character.

2013-03-08_11-18-55

I allowed each coat about an hour to dry, so after 3 layers I was done.  I also used a mini brush to fix slight imperfections.  Rollers don’t typically access the tight spots.

2013-03-08_11-19-40

I’m pleased with the final product and already looking for a chair to reupholster.

20130309-125043.jpg

Leave a Reply

