In the Defense of Sound

Art, Lifestyle, Music June 3, 2012

Def Sound, who now only goes by Def, has been defending the authenticity of music since he was 14 years old.  His origins were in beat making where he made, I swear, one beat a day.  He then developed into a rapper, a slam poet, and now an MC and mini fashion mogul.  His style is super inspiring and novel, check out his video (A)gain, it includes a pretty interesting fashion progression.  Honestly, he’s the embodiment of the modern underground musician, a true chameleon.  I may be a little bias, so you be the judge, DEF!  Anyway,  Def and I had a little sit down and I asked a few questions about his most recent video, Birds.I.View.

Cupcakes: When you wrote Birds.I.View what motivated you?

Def: I imagined my eyes were projecting my memories on the ceiling and I was just watching them. 

Cupcakes: I know you tend to use symbols and metaphor in your work, are there any you would like to mention from this song?

Def:  Well, when I call a woman a “sky when there’s nothing” I just mean that she is infinity when surrounded by darkness.  And I got the phrase “skitsometrically” from my favorite Gondry film “the Science of Sleep.”  Those are my favorite lines in the song.  

Short and sweet…

Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

