Eat Well Work Well!

Advice, Health September 5, 2011

I’ve been having some serious writer’s block for the past year…I told you it was serious.  I was having difficulties writing essays for internship, finishing my dissertation, writing my editorials for the magazine I work for, and yes even writing contemplative content for my blog.  But honestly, I have stumbled upon the cure even without intending to, that’s how some of the most amazing discoveries happen, ask a scientist.

I have been on a fast for the past week, I’m on day 9 of a 40 day fast,  where I am leaving meat and sugar out of my diet.  I also began taking an Omega-3 supplement and B-12 just to keep myself up on essential nutrients while fasting.  Well, Omaga-3 is a “brain food” and permiates into your brain where is resides mainly in the grey matter (where we do our thinking).  While in the grey matter it litterally sits between our brain cells and assists in moving along action potentials, in laymens terms it helps us think.  It also has been found to increase memory function by helping a little area in our brains called the hippocampus.

Back from my foray into nerddom, I also began maintaining a regular sleep cycle where I wake up at the same time every day, even weekends.  So today I woke up brimming with ideas and the energy to put them into action.  I don’t think there is any doubt that altering my diet and sleeping better has impacted my writter’s block.  So here’s a challange to all my readers, if you so choose, join me in my fast, begin regulating your sleep (go to bed around 10 or 11 and wake up at the same time EVERY DAY!), and let’s fill this world with our wonderful ideas.

Cupcakes

Comment 1

Leave a Reply

